Letter to myself.

Of course I would be the person to leave all my work to the last minute. Some things never change. I guess I’ve been too busy clubbing. But what can you expect? The last one to turn 18. I had to go out with a bang. But now I’m stuck here and have two days to complete all my work.

Right now I have no idea what I want to do with my life. I love photography and it’s the only thing I’m good at, so I definitely want a career within this area, but what? I have no idea. This is why I’m so exited to be going to Coventry. As well as exited I’m also terrified. I don’t look like the sort of person who goes to university, I’m still the size of a midget and I can just about handle collage work let alone university work. I guess you can’t knock it until you try it.

I’m most looking forward to fresher’s week. I’ve heard so many stories and now I actually get to live it myself. I’m not really planning on remembering much of it, but I guess that always a good sign. I’m preying I don’t get to much work in the first week, but who knows?

I expect to make new friends when I’m down there; it’s going to be bad year if I don’t. Luckily I’ve already started talking to people staying in callice court so I’m not too worried. But if I’m reading this and don’t actually have friends, I must of screwed up massively. I’m quite nervous for the work; I’m hoping it’s going to be a breeze; but slim chances of that. I’m expecting it to be the most challenging thing along with my time management. I have no idea how I’m going to keep up with everything, between housework, clubbing and the actual work I’m bracing myself for its difficulties.

It’s crazy to think when I receive this letter I will be 19. That is if I make it through fresher’s week. I’m terrified of leaving home; but by the time I next open this letter it will probably seem normal. I can’t wait to go and see what my rooms like. Although I am dreading sleeping in a single bed. I don’t know if I’m going to be able to hack it. I have to do my own washing, cook for myself. I can’t cook. So basically I’m going to starve. And the worst part; No bath. I have a plan to make friends with someone who staying in a halls with a shared bathroom because they have a bath. Then I can use there’s. I’m hoping the plan works.

My biggest worry is living away from home. More about being away from my family more than anything. Although they are only a train journey away I’m going to have to be independent. It is exiting to but at the same time there isn’t going to be anyone there who I can turn to if something goes wrong. I’m not going to like not having the re-assurance that everything is normal at home and that I have to make a three hour journey just to get there. Hopefully before I know it will be calling Coventry home.

Personally I hope to have better knowledge of both photography and the world. I want to feel capable and happy about living alone without any worries. I also want to be academically stronger. At this current time I don’t have the best grammar in my writing and I tend to type how I sound. However when leaving I want to be able to write and read a piece of my work feeling confident with the way it is presented. On the physical side of photography I hope to have a much wider knowledge of what area of photography I would like to be in and what area’s I am best at. My main achievement for uni is to leave Coventry a much stronger, better educated graduate. If I do this then I have reached my goal.

If I was to give any advice to my future self it would be stop leaving your work to the last minute, it’s not worth it.

Leave a Reply

